Juridisk Institut

Guest and Honorary Professors

Department of Law, AAU, has been involved in lecturing and research aimed at critically examining, securing, and promoting the quality and effectiveness of the legal regulation and legal systems since 2008. We value and depend on working closely with professionals from academia and organisations from across the world in order to build and enhance the international and cross-disciplinary capacity in our institution.

In 2018 we welcome several new guest- and honorary professors at the institute: Professor Nancy Dowd, University of Florida; Professor Jens Sherpe, University of Cambridge, UK; and Dr. Edward T. Canuel – U.S diplomat and honorary professor at American University (Washington) and University of Aarhus, DK. In 2018 we also launch our new framework program for our guest- and honorary professors. The framework describes in detail the purpose and collaboration between the Department of Law and the guest- and honorary professors through their appointment/affiliation period.

Below is a list of the guest and honorary professors at the institute.

guest and honorary professors at the institute

  • +

    Christian Lundblad

    The Dean of Faculty of Social Sciences, AAU has re-appointed Court President Christian Lundblad after expiry of the of previous 5 years honorary professorship at AAU. Christian Lundblad has played an important role in the establishment of the Law Studies at AAU, and during the first 10 years of the functioning of the Department of Law. Lundblad has since 2017 been serving as Court President at the Courthouse of Frederiksberg in the Copenhagen area. Previously, Lundblad served as Court President at the Courthouse of Aalborg. In his capacity of Court President Christian Lundblad has facilitated cooperation between companies, public organisations and the Department of Law.

    The appointment of Christian Lundblad as Honorary Professor runs from 2018 to 2023.

  • +

    Edward T. Canuel

    The Dean of Faculty of Social Sciences, AAU has appointed Dr. Edward T. Canuel as Honorary Professor for a period of 5 years. Dr. Canuel is already appointed as honorary professor at American University (Washington) and Aarhus University. Canuel is serving as U.S. diplomat in the Federal Administration. He has previously served as the State Department Visiting Professor at West Point Military Academy.  Dr. Canuel's research focuses on Arctic law, sustainability, and energy law and publications include Duke, the University of Texas, Georgetown, Oxford, and Ashgate Press.  Dr. Canuel holds a B.A. from Boston College, a Juris Doctor from Boston College Law School, a Master of Laws from Osgoode Hall, and a Ph.D. from the University of Oslo.

    The appointment of Dr. Canuel as Honorary Professor/Adjunct Professor runs from 2018 to 2023.

  • +

    Mette Hørning

    The Dean of Faculty of Social Sciences, AAU has re-appointed Ms. Mette Hørning as Adjunct Associate Professor after expiry of previous honorary position at AAU. Ms. Hørning’s primary field of expertise is international and bankrupcy law. Since 1995 Hørning has been based in Germany and worked as a lawyer and manager in German Companies

    Ms. Hørning’s knowledge and competence is brought into play at AAU by her contributions to lectures in international private law and as facilitator in the Department of Law’s student exchange programme. Currently, Ms. Hørning is in the establishment of cooperation between German Universities and AAU and in the identification of German companies suitable for student internships.

    The appointment of Ms. Hørning as Adjunct Associate Professor runs from 2018 to 2023.

  • +

    Morten Kjærum

    The Dean of  Faculty of Social Sciences, AAU has re- appointed Morten Kjærum as Honorary Professor after expiry of the of previous 5 years honorary professorship at AAU. Since 2015, Kjærum has served as Director of the Raoul Wallenberg Institute of Human Rights and Humanitarian Law in Sweden, and is concurrently chairing the Board of the European Council on Refugees and Exiles (ECRE). Previously, he was the first Director of the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA) in Vienna, and from 1991-2008 the founding Director of the Danish Institute for Human Rights. He has over time held a considerable number of other prestigious international posts. Morten Kjærum has published widely on human rights, refugees and related issues. 

    The appointment of Morten Kjærum as Honorary Professor/Adjunct Professor runs for a 5 year period from 2018 to 2022.

Juridisk Institut  |  Fibigerstræde 4, 9220 Aalborg Øst  |  Tlf.: 9940 9940  |  E-mail: law@law.aau.dk  |  EAN: 5798 000 421 332